School Name

The Marston Thorold's Charity Church of England


Google Search
Google Translate

Contact Us


The EYFS Curriculum Overarching Values of Pedagogy

The EYFS (educational programmes) provides the curriculum framework that leaders build on to decide what they intend children to learn and develop. Leaders and practitioners decide how to implement the curriculum so that children make progress in the seven areas of learning. Leaders and practitioners evaluate the impact of the curriculum by checking what children know and can do.

Early Years Inspection Framework p30 (School Inspection Framework p41 & Independent Schools Inspection Framework p36 reinforces the above message in a whole school context)


Assessment plays an important part in helping parents, carers and practitioners to recognise children’s progress, understand their needs, and to plan activities and support. Ongoing assessment (also known as formative assessment) is an integral part of the learning and development process. It involves practitioners knowing children’s level of achievement and interests, and then shaping teaching and learning experiences for each child reflecting that knowledge. In their interactions with children, practitioners should respond to their own day-to-day observations about children’s progress and observations that parents and carers share.

Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage September 2021 p18


Assessment should not entail prolonged breaks from interaction with children, nor require excessive paperwork. When assessing whether an individual child is at the expected level of development, practitioners should draw on their knowledge of the child and their own expert professional judgement and should not be required to prove this through collection of physical evidence.

Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage September 2021 p18