Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Marston Thorold's Charity CE Primary School Governing Body

Chair of Governors - Mr G Cannon

Vice Chair of Governors - Mrs S Rann

List of Governor roles and tenure 2018/2019

What do they do?


The governing body helps to run the school by making strategic decisions about finances, premises and curriculum and offers support and guidance to the headteacher and the staff. The day-to-day running of the school is done by the headteacher and the staff and the governing body rely on the head to advise them.


There are two main sub-committees of the governing body


  • School Improvement: This explores the teaching and learning in the school.
  • Buildings, Finance & Staffing: This looks after the budget and the finances

The Buildings, Finance & Staffing committee comprises:

Ray Beal, Lucille Chesterton, Gordon Cannon, Jan Marshall, Judith Potter, Alistair Ross, Susan Rann

The School Improvement Committee comprises:

Gordon Cannon, Lucille Chesterton, Jan Marshall, Stuart Hadley, Chantal Walker

The Admission, Pupil Discipline and Staff Discipline Committee comprises:

Gordon Cannon, Ray Beal, Lucille Chesterton, Jan Marshall

Complaints Committee:

Ray Beal, Lucille Chesterton, Jan Marshall